top of page

Abundance

Updated: Jul 25, 2023

It was halfway through our family reunion in Oklahoma. I stood in the Walmart checkout with my tortillas. I was out of my element and trying to finish the errand as fast as possible to get back to the family festivities. The clerk scanned the bags and rang up my total. I didn’t have my wallet, but I had my phone.


“We don’t take Apple Pay, but you can try downloading our app.”

I moved aside and tried to download the app. I glanced at the next woman in line, hoping she could bail me out. Why didn't the grocery store take Venmo? Wait a second -- maybe another customer would!


I quickly tried to download the app while giving myself a silent lecture. I’ve made another mistake. I’ve wasted more time.


I glanced back at the woman, “Do you happen to have Venmo?” I asked.


“Yes, but don’t worry about it, I’ve got it, pass on the good deed to someone else.”


“Thank you so much!” I smiled and grabbed my tortillas.


Maybe you’ve felt like this too. Maybe you’ve run out, maybe you’ve forgotten, maybe you were unprepared. Maybe you didn’t feel adequate. Maybe you didn’t feel like enough.

The dictionary definition of “enough” is, “as much or as many as required.” When we don’t meet the requirements we feel inadequate. As a mother, it’s easy for me to feel inadequate, to ask questions like: Am I enough? Do I have enough?

He promises abundance, enough to live, enough to share.

But our Heavenly Father doesn’t leave us feeling this way. He promises that He will be more than enough. He promises abundance, enough to live, enough to share.


The enemy wants us to feel defeated, to trust in ourselves, to trust in anything but God. He wants to steal, kill, and destroy. But the Father gently reminds us of His abundant life. A life that overflows. Even when I don’t feel like enough, I know that I have enough.


This post is part of a blog hop with Exhale—an online community of women pursuing creativity alongside motherhood, led by the writing team behind Coffee + Crumbs. Click here to view the next post in the series "Enough".



49 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SOAR

bottom of page