top of page

Stress & Slumber

What would you do on the most stressful night of your life? Binge Netflix? Order DoorDash? Go to bed early? I would probably do some combination of all three and hoped it would help.


The night before my labor I had the chance to meditate on the Word of God. I had the chance to be with my brothers and sisters. I had the chance to share my burden. As I sit here, six months postpartum, I’ve still experienced stressful nights. Visits to the ER. Consoling a cranky baby. (Just a few hours of uninterrupted sleep is a dream come true!) Yet, in my weakest of times I’ve experienced both the pain of feeling alone and the joy of receiving community. As I was reading in Mark, I’m reminded that Jesus had stressful nights too.


Mark 14 tells the story of Crucifixion Eve. Jesus took three of his dearest friends to Gethsemane and told them, “Sit here until I have prayed.” Jesus didn’t hide His emotions, He freely shared them with the disciples. Jesus, the only perfect man on earth was, “deeply grieved to the point of death.” Maybe you feel like that. Maybe your illness is unending. Maybe your financial strain is mounting. Maybe your relationships are suffering. Maybe your friends are sleeping in your greatest time of need.


What did Jesus do next? He turned to His Greatest friend, the One who never sleeps nor slumbers. He fell to the ground and called to His Father, His Daddy, His Abba.

Maybe that would wake up the disciples? No, they were still sleeping, even for one hour, they couldn’t stay awake.


Maybe you’re the friend that’s sleeping. Maybe you’re the friend who needs help. Maybe you want to stay awake, but just don’t have the energy. Regardless of your current circumstance, there’s always someone ready to listen. Cry out to Him, just like a child cries out to their Father. He’ll comfort us during the darkest of nights.

Moon






24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page